Each country has nominated Centres of Excellence which may form cross-border collaborative bids with other nominated Centres of Excellence in order to compete for funding.

Each Centre of Excellence must meet the following criteria;

  • Be nationally recognised, with long-term, renewable programmes of research
  • Bring together a number of groups to provide a substantive multidisciplinary approach
  • Have a track record of internationally competitive research outputs
  • Be lead by a Director and management team
  • Be supported by significant infrastructural investment.

Germany (DZNE)

  • Bonn, Dresden, Göttingen, Magdeburg, Munich, Tübingen and Rostock/Greifswald


  • MRC Centre for Neuropsychiatric Genetics and Genomics, Cardiff
  • MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge
  • MRC Functional Genetics Unit, Oxford
  • MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology (neuroscience division), Cambridge
  • MRC Prion Unit, London
  • MRC/WT Behavioural and Clinical Neuroscience Institute, Cambridge
  • MRC WT virtual centres based in
    1. Cambridge (Alzheimer’s)
    2. KCL (MND)
    3. UCL (Parkinson’s)
  • RCUK Centre for Brain Ageing and Vitality, Newcastle
  • RCUK Centre for Cognitive Ageing and Epidemiology, Edinburgh
  • NIHR Dementia Translational Research Collaboration:
  • NIHR Cambridge Dementia Biomedical Research Centre and Unit
  • NIHR Imperial Biomedical Research Centre
  • NIHR Maudsley Dementia Biomedical Research Centre and Unit
  • NIHR Newcastle Dementia Biomedical Research Centre and Unit
  • NIHR Oxford Biomedical Research Centre
  • NIHR Queen’s Square Dementia Biomedical Research Centre and Unit


  • CIHR
  • Major expertise in neurodegeneration and Alzheimer’s disease research exist at various universities in Canada including Dalhousie, Laval, Sherbrooke, Montreal, McGill, Ottawa, Toronto, Western Ontario, Manitoba, Alberta, Calgary and UBC. Researchers based at other universities and institutes are also encouraged to apply in partnership with the CIHR.

Belgium (Flanders) VIB

  • Department of Molecular and Developmental Genetics, University of Leuven (KUL)
  • VIB Department of Molecular Genetics, University of Antwerp (UA)

Ireland (HRB)

  • NCBES Neuroscience Cluster (National University of Ireland, Galway)
  • 3U Partnership (Dublin City University, NUI Maynooth and the Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland)
  • Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience (TCIN), Dublin

Italy (Ministry of Health)

  • IRCCS Fondazione Santa Lucia, Rome
  • IRCCS Istituto Neurologico Carlo Besta, Milan
  • IRCCS Casimiro Mondino, Pavia
  • IRCCS Centro San Giovanni di Dio Malattie Psichiatriche, Brescia
  • IRCCS NEUROMED, Pozzilli
  • Centre of Excellence on Neurodegenerative Diseases, University of Milan
  • Centre for Neuroimaging, University San Raffaele, Milan

Spain (ISCIII)

  • CIBERNED (Centre of Networked Biodemical Research on Neurodegenerative Diseases)
  • CIEN Foundation (Foundation Research Centre of Neurological Diseases)

Slovakia (MESRS)

Centre of Excellence in Brain Research (CEBR) incorporating:

  • Institute of Neuroimmunology (Coordinator), Slovak Academy of Sciences
  • Institute of Experimental Endocrinology, Slovak Academy of Sciences
  • Institute of Neurobiology, Slovak Academy of Sciences
  • Medical Faculty, Commenius University, Bratislava
  • Jessenius Medical Faculty, Commenius University, Martin
  • University of Veterinary Medicine and Pharmacy, Kosice
  • Centrum Memory